February 24, 2019 

These two rarely heard quartets offer a glimpse into the personal crises of their respective composers. Sibelius, struggling with his alcoholism and cancer scare, inscribed the words “Voce intimae” in a friend’s copy of this score. Janacek composed this quartet, originally entitled “Love Letters”, while mired in a lengthy and one-sided obsession with a married woman 38 years his junior to whom he wrote hundreds of love letters.


Erin Burkholder, violin

Jeremy Gabbert, violin

Peter Blake, viola

Kathleen de Caen, cello


Jean Sibelius                         String Quartet, Op. 56 “Voces Intimae”

Leo Janacek                           String Quartet No. 2, “Intimate Letters”


Click here to buy tickets

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search